Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Culture LGBT
Archives
2 juillet 2008

Anactoria (Swinburne)

Anactoria[1]

 

My life is bitter with thy love ; thine eyes 

Blind me, thy tresses burn me, thy sharp sighs 

Divide my flesh and spirit with soft sound, 

And my blood strengthens, and my veins abound. 

I pray thee sigh not, speak not, draw not breath ; 

Let life burn down, and dream it is not death. 

I would the sea had hidden us, the fire 

(Wilt thou fear that, and fear not my desire ?) 

severed the bones that bleach, the flesh that cleaves, 

and let our sifted ashes drop like leaves. 

I feel thy blood against my blood : my pain 

Pains thee, and lips bruise lips, and vein stings vein.

Let fruit be crushed on fruit, let flower on flower, 

Breast kindle breast, and either burn one hour.

Why wilt thou follow lesser loves ? are thine

Too weak to bear these hands and lips of mine ?

I charge thee for my life’s sake, O too sweet

To crush love with thy cruel faultless feet,

I charge thee keep thy lips from hers or his,

Sweetest, till theirs be sweeter than my kiss[2] :

Lest I too lure, a swallow for a dove,

Erotion or Erinna to my love. (…)

Yea, all thy beauty sickens me with love ;

Thy girdle empty of thee and now not fair,

And ruinous lilies in thy languid hair.

Ah, take no thought for Love’s sake ; shall this be,

And she who loves thy lover not love thee ?

Sweet soul, sweet mouth of all that laughs and lives,

Mine is she, very mine ; and she forgives.

For I beheld in sleep the light that is

In her high place in Paphos, heard the kiss

Of body and soul that mix with eager tears

And laughter stinging through the eyes and ears ;

Saw Love, as burning flame from crown to feet,

Imperishable, upon her storied seat ;

Clear eyelids lifted toward the north and south,

A mind of many colours, and a mouth

Of many tunes and kisses ; and she bowed,

With all her subtle face laughing aloud,

Bowed down upon me, saying, ‘Who doth thee wrong,

Sappho ?’ but thou – thy body is the song,

Thy mouth the music ; thou art more than I,

Though my voice die not till the whole world die ; (…)

Have we not lips to love with, eyes for tears[3],

And summer and flower of women and of years ?

Stars for the foot of morning, and for noon

Sunlight, and exaltation of the moon ;

Waters that answer waters, fields that wear

Lilies, and languor of the Lesbian air ? (…)

Ah that my mouth for Muses’ milk were fed

On the sweet blood thy sweet small wounds had bled !

That with my tongue I felt them, and could taste

The faint flakes from thy bosom to the waist !

That I could drink thy veins as wine, and eat

Thy breasts like honey ! that from face to feet

Thy body were abolished and consumed,

And in my flesh thy very flesh entombed !

Ah, ah, thy beauty ! like a beast it bites,

Stings like an adder, like an arrow smites.

Ah sweet, and sweet again, and seven times sweet,

The paces and the pauses of thy feet !

Ah sweeter than all sleep or summer air

The fallen fillets fragrant from thine hair !

Yea, though their alien kisses do me wrong,

Sweeter thy lips than mine with all their song ; (…)

Yea, thou shalt be forgotten like spilt wine,

Except these kisses of my lips on thine

Brand them with immortality ; (…)

I Sappho shall be one with all these things,

With all high things for ever ; and my face

Seen once, my songs once heard in a strange place, (…)

Last year when I loved Atthis, and this year

When I love thee[4] ; (…)

 

Swinburne a également dédié un poème « In Memory of Charles Baudelaire » :

 

(…) Thine ears knew all the wandering watery sighs

 Where the sea sobs round Lesbian promontories[5], »

 

Que je traduis par : « Où la mer sanglote autour des promontoires Lesbiens, »

 

 



 

[1] Anactoria fut une des amantes de Sappho. Je vais essayer de donner une petite idée sur ce que dit ce poème : « Tes yeux m’aveuglent, tes tresses me brûlent, tes soupirs divisent ma chair et mon esprit avec un doux son, mon sang se fortifie et mes veines abondent. Je te prie d’arrêter de soupirer, de parler, de respirer ; laisse la vie s’éteindre et rêve que ce n’est pas la mort. J’aurai aimé que la mer nous cache, le feu (as-tu peur de cela et pas de mon désir ?) le feu laisse nos cendres tomber comme des feuilles. Je sens ton sang contre mon sang : ma peine te peine, tes lèvres font des bleus à mes lèvres, tes veines brûlent mes veines. Laisse le fruit être écrasé par le fruit, laisse la fleur sur la fleur, le cœur allumer le cœur, ou alors brûle une heure. Pourquoi veux-tu suivre ces amours inférieurs ? est-ce que ton amour est trop faible pour supporter mes mains et mes lèvres ? O ma très douce, je te prie de ne pas offrir tes lèvres à d’autres, sauf si leurs lèvres sont plus douces que mon bisou. Oui, toute ta beauté me rend malade d’amour ; »

 

[2] « Est-il possible que celle qui aime ton amante ne t’aime pas ? Ma douce âme, douce bouche de tout ce qui rit et vit, elle est mienne, toute mienne. Dans son haut lieu à Paphos, entends le baiser du corps et de l’âme qui mélange les larmes et les rires ; vois l’Amour impérissable la brûler de la tête aux pieds ; un esprit arc-en-ciel et une bouche remplie d’airs et de bisous ; et elle se penche vers moi et dit : « qu’as-tu fait de faux, Sappho ? » Mais Toi, ton corps est la chanson, ta bouche la musique ; ton Art par ma voix ne mourra pas avant la fin du monde; »

 

[3] « N’avons-nous pas des lèvres faites pour aimer, des yeux pour les larmes ? L’eau qui répond à l’eau, les champs remplis de lys et la langueur pour l’air Lesbien ? Ah que ma bouche soit nourrie avec le lait des Muses et que ton sang coule dans le mien ! Que ma langue puisse les sentir ! Que je puisse boire tes veines comme du vin et manger tes seins comme du miel ! Que ton corps n’existe plus et que toute ta chair soit enterrée dans ma chair ! Ah, ah, ta beauté ! comme une bête elle mord. Ah ma douce, ma douce, sept fois douce ! Ah plus douce que le sommeil ou l’air d’été, je suis tombée dans les filets de tes cheveux ! Oui, même si tes baisers étranges m’ont fait tourner la tête, tes lèvres sont plus douces que les miennes ; Oui, on oubliera tout de toi sauf ces bisous de mes lèvres sur les tiennes, marqués au fer pour l’éternité… »

 

[4] « Moi, Sappho, je serai une avec toutes ces choses, toutes ces belles choses pour toujours ; avec mon visage vu une fois, mes chants entendus une fois… L’année dernière, quand j’ai aimé Atthis et cette année alors que je t’aime… » 

 

[5] Dans La Pléiade Anthologie bilingue de la poésie anglaise (avec un portrait de John Keats), ce mot "Lesbian" fut traduit par « à Lesbos »… ( Ah ! bon, faut-il rire ? c’est une blague ? non, c’est malheureusement un des visages cachés de la Lesbophobie : on veut rendre invisible le mot « Lesbien(ne) » lui-même… c’est comme le fait de dire que « Renée Vivien semble avoir été homosexuelle » en note dans un livre consacré à une autre Lesbienne : Mireille Havet ; elle l’EST ! elle l'a suffisamment dit dans ses poèmes !)

Publicité
Commentaires
Culture LGBT
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Publicité