Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Culture LGBT
Archives
2 juillet 2008

A Sappho (Swinburne)

On the Cliffs

(Sur les Falaises)

Citation de Sappho en grec.

 

(…) Sappho – because I have known thee and loved, hast thou

none other answer now ?

As brother and sister were we, child and bird,

Since thy first Lesbian word

Flamed on me, and I knew not whence I knew

This was the song that struck my whole soul through, (…)

 

I loved thee, - hark, one tenderer note than all –

Atthis, of old time, once – one low long fall,

Sighing – one long low lovely loveless call,

Dying – one pause in song so flamelike fast –

Atthis, long since in old time overpast –

One soft first pause and last. (…)

 

Child of God, close craftswoman, I beseech thee,

Bid not ache nor agony break nor master,

Lady, my spirit –

O thou her mistress, might her cry not reach thee ? (…)

 

Mon résumé : « Sappho, comme frère et sœur, enfant et oiseau, depuis que ton 1er mot Lesbien m’a touché(e), ton Chant m’a ébranlé(e) l’âme toute entière. Je t’aime – la note la plus douce de toutes – Atthis, il y a longtemps…Fille de Dieu, je te supplie, Femme, mon âme(sœur) – O toi sa maîtresse, ses pleurs ne pouvaient-ils pas t’atteindre ? »

 

Publicité
Commentaires
Culture LGBT
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Publicité